An Introduction

Hello World! (as wordpress would say). Since this is the first post, I figure I should tell my reader(s) (Mom?) a little about me, the humble owner of this here blog. I suppose I’ll start by saying that I know now that I have always been an artist, but I’ve only recently started to embrace that identity. By recently, I mean in the past few years. I painted, drew, and in general enjoyed making things with my hands since I was very little, but I spent much of my formative years dreaming of being an artist but remaining fully convinced that that just wasn’t a real job. That wasn’t something people did. It was something that people in cubicles dreamed of doing, but it was something out of my reach. This blog is about me embracing that I can do this, that this is something within my reach.

As a young child, I didn’t feel that I was “weird” for preferring a lot of alone time (as many artists do, other than Salvador Dali, I suppose. He was pretty obnoxious). As I aged, however I started to internalize that there was something wrong with that. I partly blame social media, in that to an insecure middle school-er, it seemed like these sites existed just to remind me that everyone else was having way more fun, had way more friends, etc. than I did. It made me insecure.

This lonely painting courtesy of me, age 13

However, when I grew into a teenager I started to realize that this was normal, adolescent anxiety, and that others were going through the same thing. I had to accept the fact that I’m in many ways a typical product of my generation: I grew up playing way too much video games, spent way too much time exploring the vast landscapes of the internet/watching TV, and not enough time outside. And that’s fine, in its own way. At least I can be self-aware about it now. Enjoying solitary activities helps one cultivate an inner life, a comfort with being alone with oneself, not requiring constant outside validation. Even if said solitary activity is exploring Hyrule in Ocarina of Time (a Nintendo 64 game for those not in the know). I’m an artist who massively enjoys pop culture, but my work isn’t really what many would consider “pop,” art. In fact, I plan to blog often about games and interactive storytelling, often in relation to my art. Seriously, my sister once told one of my teachers that when I wasn’t painting I was playing video games, so there has to be at least some, even involuntary, influence- and I plan to explore that.

Seriously, that was my childhood, it really wasn’t that exciting. Although, what would you really expect growing up in the desert of Arizona? Oh yes, did I mention I’ve lived in Arizona for most of my life? In all honesty, I can’t say I’m really that attached to the place. Getting to the point where if you were to see another cowboy/desert painting it would be too soon will do that to you. So will being a feminist (I am.) The various political embarrassments of the Grand Canyon State are also cons. Thankfully, during my last years of high school I had the fortune to travel through Europe with The Arizona Heritage Project, where I visited Germany, France, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Poland, and Austria. These trips definitely helped me to mature and also made me fall in love with traveling.

Salzburg, Austria

Nothing this awesome could exist in Arizona. (This is in Salzburg, Austria)

So, that’s me. I’m a painter, artist, gamer, and also a feminist (fair warning), clotheshorse and occasional crafter, and you’ll be reading about all of these things on this here blog. This blog is all about me embracing my work and the things that I love enough to share them/my thoughts with all of you. Thank you for reading and enjoy the ride!

-Megan

One thought on “An Introduction

  1. I’ve always liked exploring Hyrule, too. 🙂 And you can change that “reader(s)” to “readers” on that there blog post.

    p.s. You’re insightful and hilarious.

Leave a Reply

