Felting Fun!

The felting continues. Because I’m the best sister in the world (and because I had leftover felt from Fibers 1) I made my sister this adorable felted Totoro for Christmas:

      

If you don’t know what a totoro is, then I feel really sorry for you and your laughably inferior childhood. Hayao Miyazaki’s film My Neighbor Totoro is basically the cutest movie ever made. A staple of many childhood film viewings.

 

Despite the cuteness, the movie is really about the relationship between two sisters, about the same age difference as my sister and I, who are struggling to deal with their mother’s illness and hospitalization. It’s a coming of age story, but with cuteness.

A totoro is actually a great project to start with, as the form is pretty simple and round. And all that you need to make one is a needle-felter and some soft felt, also sometimes called wool roving. You can buy bags of it at Joann’s or pretty much any craft store.

This is the needle-felter that I use- it’s not the best (the needles are really brittle). But what differentiates a needle felter from say, a cheap plastic tube with plain ol needles stuck in, is the fact that its needles are serrated. So, the little grooves in the needle grab at the wool fibers to felt them together into whatever shape you want 9and in turn makes the form more dense.) Basically, the needle felting process is just stabbing a ball of roving over and over again to gradually build up form.

Currently, I’m starting to make a hamster, specifically a roborovski dwarf hamster. If you’re a connoisseur of cute like me, you’ll know that roborovski dwarf hamsters are just about the cutest thing in existence. I’ve already hammered out a basic shape to start with:

     

Wish me luck! I’ll be sure to post the finished product!

2 thoughts on “Felting Fun!

Leave a Reply

