Liquitex String Gel Medium

Recently I purchased This because I had a coupon and felt like trying out a new gel medium. I’m not really a huge fan of liquitex as a brand (I prefer golden), but I must say, I’m happy with my purchase! There are some drawbacks, but I’d recommend that any mixed media artist add this to their inventory.

I’d always struggled with trying to use ordinary gel medium to make clean, thin lines of texture. Obviously, it never really worked out. Instead, I just settled with my needle tipped bottle, where I could make these clean lines with liquid pigment, but they weren’t textured. Well, my conundrum was solved with this string gel.

Like the description says, the gel has the consistency of syrup or honey- distinctly different from any ordinary gel medium. It creates strings very easily, just from dipping a palette knife or paintbrush into the bottle.

You can make some really cool, intricate textures pretty easily! It’s fun to use, and all I really have to worry about at this point is not over using it. I don’t want my work to look like some string gel gimmick.

The only issue I’ve run into is when pigment or paint is mixed with the gel to give it some color. I wouldn’t recommend that paint be mixed with it (unless you don’t care about making strings), as it really ruins the texture of the gel, and the “strings” won’t come as easily. However, I’ve found that when you use fluid acrylics, it works a lot more effectively (since fluid acrylics have far less of a “binder” and are more pure in pigmentation.) The only thing I don’t like about this is that you can’t just make a small batch of colored gel, you have to use quite a bit so that you have a big enough glob to produce the strings. Since I’m so stingy with art supplies, this can be a bit difficult for me, but I’ll get over it. I can’t wait to incorporate this gel more into my work!

7 thoughts on “Liquitex String Gel Medium

    1. Thanks for commenting! Yeah, I don’t think I would have tried this if I hadn’t had the 40% off coupon. I don’t know where you get your art supplies, but price-wise, it really helps to go to an art supply only store like Utrecht rather than Joann’s or Aaron Brothers. Everything is so much cheaper!

      1. I the Michael’s coupons emailed, but I usually save the coupons to buy big tubes of acrylics. I buy canvas & paper in bulk on Dickblick.com. I’m cheap like that ^_^

  1. Thanks for sharing! I got interesting effects just using different kind of glues, including a glue gun. Each of them tends to make different patterns, they do not offer as much options as this gel though.

    1. That’s a really good idea! I never really thought of using a glue gun- probably because I was worried that the glue wasn’t archival and would damage my artwork. However, lo and behold, google has revealed to me that many varieties of hot glue can even be used in museum applications. Who knew? (not me). This gel isn’t really as thick as hot glue, and of course it has the benefit of drying much more slowly, so it’s easier to make patterns. Plus, I like that I can also mix it with my paints to make them glossier/more transparent. Like you said, more options!

Leave a Reply

