Hayao Miyazaki and the Splendor of Nature

Viewing a Hayao Miyazaki (or really any Studio Ghibli film) undoubtedly involves awestruck wonderment at the beautifully hand painted backgrounds. I recently had to watch most of his films again for a research paper, and even though they’re all very familiar to me, I remained captivated as a viewer. Watching his films is like living in a painting for a few hours.

tumblr_ltl33hkHge1qzqnxxo1_500

All gifs courtesy of Studio Ghibli gifs

All of Miyazaki’s films are a visual treat, and always include lush landscapes that celebrate the beauty of the natural world- which are reflective of his own environmental concerns. I admire how he combines the Kurosawa-esque shots of sweeping, dramatic landscapes-

tumblr_m9x17n2GpS1qc8e6lo1_500

– with more intimate shots:

tumblr_maf7htRuY81rt479bo1_500

The environments are so immersive, and the fact that they’re entirely created by artists, rather than a set designer, lends them a more magical and fantastic quality, despite their obvious painstaking realism. I guess the realism anchors the more fantastic elements:

Howl-s-Moving-Castle-howls-moving-castle-913538_1024_768

Overall, Miyazaki’s films all reflect a deep appreciation and respect for the natural world, and the importance of preserving it. He’s stated: “For me, the deep forest is connected in some way to the darkness in my heart. I feel that if it is erased, then the darkness in my heart would also disappear, and my existence would grow shallow.”

tumblr_lsxk1qQPeX1qzea6yo1_500

6 thoughts on “Hayao Miyazaki and the Splendor of Nature

      1. Thanks. I’ve seen evidence of this thinking in the Nausicaa manga, a scene in which the protagonist stares into the abyss of the mind. It’s nice to see what he said about it.

  1. I was watching Howl’s Moving Castle last night and missed you! I finally log into WordPress and see you’ve posted about Miyazaki! What are the odds? (Actually, pretty good, right?)

Leave a Reply

