Painting Beyond the Canvas

Sometimes thinking out of the box means painting a box! (sorry for that.) But really, painting small wooden boxes (like cigar boxes) can be a fun departure from the everyday canvas or panel. In fact, painting on a box is basically the same as painting on the latter, only the end result is something that you can put stuff in!

I originally fell in love with the idea when I saw these painted boxes Wayne Thiebaud did as gifts for his wife:

Thiebaud-Ice-Cream-Cone Cigar Box

 

I just knew I had to do some for myself. Being cheap, I opted for the cigar box option. All I needed was my painting materials and some painters tape to cleanly section off the area for the image:

Lips Cigar Box2_Megan Koth (1000x791)

Lips Cigar Box_MeganKoth (1000x784)

 

I don’t know what I’m gonna put in here yet, but I feel like it should be something dirty. Like vibrators.

Tina4

 

Leave a Reply

