Watercolor Revisited

I’m beginning to notice a pattern wherein during the times when I don’t quite know what to paint with my “core” work, i.e my oil paintings, I frequently retreat to fiddling around with watercolor. Although, like a lot of painters whose preference is to work in oils, watercolor’s unpredictability and permanence tends to frustrate me. However, over the years of working off and on with the medium, I’ve started to get more comfortable. Not to mention, I work small and on pretty inexpensive (none of that 300lb stuff) paper, so I’m okay with it not turning out great every time and simply being happy when it does.

Previously, I’ve only been interested in non-objective forays into watercolor. Recently, however, I’ve become interested in portraiture. Stylized, of course.

Face 1 Megan Koth SCAN (569x800)

Doe Eyes, watercolor on hot press. By Megan Koth. Prints, etc. available from my store.

Doe Eyes 3_Sml_Megan Koth

Doe Eyes III, watercolor on hot press. By Megan Koth. Prints, etc available from my store.

Sometimes, it can be beneficial to use a medium that you’re not all that invested in. Although it doesn’t always work out, during the times that it does, the results can be refreshingly interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

